Spring 2019: Introduction to Scientific Computing

Computers, one of the most important tools in science and engineering, find applications in all aspects of academia and industry alike. Though expected to employ this tool effectively, few scientists and engineers have been trained to harness the power at their fingertips, and most could benefit significantly from a high-level exposure to scientific computing methodology. This tutorial series will introduce many computational tools, tricks, and tips that would otherwise take years of trial and error to learn.

Schedule

During the spring semester, we will offer the tutorial series at the Johns Hopkins University Homewood Campus in Malone G33 on Mondays from 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm according to the following schedule:

  • Monday 28 January: Computer hardware basics (single-user, cluster)
  • Monday 4 February: Linux basics (connecting, navigation, vim, file transfer)
  • Monday 11 February: MARCC environment (lmod, slurm)
  • Monday 18 February: Code repositories (git)
  • Monday 25 February: Bash scripting
  • Monday 4 March: Python basics
  • Monday 11 March: Python libraries
  • Monday 18 March: [spring break; no session this week]
  • Monday 25 March: Data visualization
  • Monday 1 April: C basics (compiling, linking, debugging, profiling)
  • Monday 8 April: Installing and using packages/libraries
  • Monday 15 April: Parallelization (OpenMP, MPI, Cuda)
  • Monday 22 April: Data management
  • Monday 29 April: Databases

We reserve the right to modify the above topics as the tutorial series progresses to best suit those in attendance.

Prerequisites

No prior experience is required. Please bring a laptop to participate in the tutorials.

Attendance policy

The tutorial series is designed to build on itself as it progresses and we encourage you to attend all tutorials. For a smaller time commitment, consider attending one of our training workshops.

Questions?

Contact us at marcc-help@marcc.jhu.edu

Registration

Fields marked with an * are required