Fall 2017: Introduction to Scientific Computing

Computers, one of the most important tools in science and engineering, find applications in all aspects of academia and industry alike. Though expected to employ this tool effectively, few scientist and engineers have been trained to harness the power at their fingertips, and most could benefit significantly from a high-level exposure to scientific computing methodology. This tutorial series will introduce many computational tools, tricks, and tips that would otherwise take years of trial and error to learn.

Schedule

During the fall, we will offer the tutorial series at the Johns Hopkins University Homewood Campus in Malone G33 on Tuesdays from 2:00 pm to 4:00 pm according to the following schedule:

  • Tuesday 12 September: Computer hardware basics (single-user, cluster)
  • Tuesday 19 September: Linux basics (connecting, navigation, Bash, Vim, file transfer)
  • Tuesday 26 September: MARCC environment (lmod, Slurm)
  • Tuesday 3 October: Code repositories (Git)
  • Tuesday 10 October: C basics (compiling, linking, debugging, profiling)
  • Tuesday 17 October: [no session this week]
  • Tuesday 24 October: Installing packages/libraries
  • Tuesday 31 October: Python basics
  • Tuesday 7 November: Python data analysis and visualization (scipy and ParaView)
  • Tuesday 14 November: Parallelization (OpenMP, MPI, Cuda)
  • Tuesday 28 November: Data management
  • Tuesday 5 December: Bash scripting basics and LaTeX basics

We reserve the right to modify the above topics as the tutorial series progresses.

Prerequisites

No prior experience is required. Please bring a laptop to participate in the tutorials.

Attendance policy

The tutorial series is designed to build on itself as it progresses and we strongly discourage skipping tutorials. For a smaller time commitment, consider attending one of our training workshops.

Questions?

Contact us at marcc-help@marcc.jhu.edu

Registration

Registration for this semester is closed. There will be another Tutorial Series next semester.